A Look at Modern Political Newspeak

Select quotes and satirical (yet mostly true, probably) translations from the third and final 2016 presidential election debate between Republican nominee Donald Trump and Democrat nominee Hillary Clinton, as moderated by Fox News’ Chris Wallace on 19 October 2016:

 

Hillary Clinton:  “…we need a Supreme Court that will stand up on behalf of women’s rights, on behalf of the rights of the LGBT community, that will stand up and say no to Citizens United, a decision that has undermined the election system in our country because of the way it permits dark, unaccountable money to come into our electoral system.

Translation:  “…we need a Supreme Court that will stand up on behalf of women’s rights, on behalf of the rights of the LGBT community, that will stand up and say no to Citizens United, because, you know, only I should receive oodles of money from world regimes hostile to women and gays around the world, because only I care about women and gay people.  But domestic organizations with no history or evidence of such human rights atrocities should have zero input in American politics at all.”

 

Clinton:  “…the Supreme Court should represent all of us.”

Translation:  “…the Supreme Court should represent all of us.  And by ‘all of us,’ I mean the Supreme Court should represent only those parts of society which bolster and support Big Government, rule of the oligarchical elite, and restrictions of individual rights in favor of collectivism, and abolishment of private property rights and possession.  In sum, I want a Supreme Court that represents only a minority of the country – namely, liberal authoritarians.”

 

Clinton:  “And the kind of people that I would be looking to nominate to the court would be in the great tradition of standing up to the powerful…”

Translation:  “And the kind of people that I would be looking to nominate to the court stand up to the citizens of America and further erode their individual ability to protect their own interests, rights, liberties, and property.”

 

Donald Trump:  “The justices that I am going to appoint… will be protecting the Second Amendment.”
Translation:  “In the great tradition of bipartisan statism, my nominees will completely ignore most cases involving Second Amendment infringements and will happily uphold Congress’ litany of unconstitutional restrictions on it at least half of the time.”

 

Clinton:  “…I support the Second Amendment.  …  I understand and respect the tradition of gun ownership that goes back to the bounding of our country, but…”

Translation:  “I do not support the Second Amendment.  I want to totally disarm the American citizenry.”  This is a classic example of doublespeak.  Anyone who begins such a statement that transitions with a “but…” is about to convey their disrespect and/or contempt for the Second Amendment.  This is politically equivalent to prefacing a statement with the adage “with all due respect, but…,” which always precedes a follow-on disrespectful comment.

 

Clinton:  “Because I support the Second Amendment doesn’t mean that I want people who shouldn’t have guns to be able to threaten you, kill you or members of your family.”

Translation:  “Because I support the Second Amendment doesn’t mean that I want people who shouldn’t have guns to be able to threaten you, kill you or members of your family.  Instead, I would rather have a large, unaccountable institution have all those guns to threaten you into compliance, violently coerce you, and – as I see fit – kill you or members of your family.”

 

Clinton:  “There’s other matters that I think are sensible, that are the kinds of reforms that would make a difference, that are not in any way conflicting with the Second Amendment.”
Translation:  “There’s other matters that I know are completely nonsensical, proven ineffective time and again, and which completely violate legal strict scrutiny of the Second Amendment’s protections.”

 

Clinton:  “…I disagreed with the way the court applied the Second Amendment in [the Heller] case.”

Translation:  “I believe that the Second Amendment is a protection for government rights, not individual rights, an interpretation that is completely antithetical to why such a protection is listed as a prohibition within the Bill of Rights in the first place, and thereby indefensible. ”

 

Clinton:  “…what the District of Columbia was trying to do was protect toddlers from guns.  And so they wanted people with guns to safely store them.”

Translation:  “…what the District of Columbia was trying to do was protect toddlers, which is why that jurisdiction also banned swimming pools.  Also, they wanted a de facto handgun ban, in further pursuit of ultimate government authority, and so knowingly rendered people’s ability to defend themselves when seconds matter most completely ineffective.”

 

Clinton:  “…I see no conflict between saving people’s lives and defending the Second Amendment.”

Translation:  “I see what I want to see in furtherance of my ultimate goal of authoritarian power.”

 

Clinton:  “There is no doubt that I respect the Second Amendment.”
Translation:  “There is no doubt that I hold no respect for the Second Amendment.”

 

Clinton:  “…I also believe there is an individual right to bear arms.”

Translation“I believe there is no individual right to bear arms.”

 

Clinton:  “I understand that Donald has been strongly supported by the NRA, the gun lobby is on his side

Translation:  “I understand that Donald has been strongly supported by gun owners, the individual gun owner is not on my side.”

 

Trump:  “I am a very strong supporter of the Second Amendment.”
Translation:  “I am a very strong supporter of the Second Amendment, right now, so long as Clinton is not.  I think I might stay that way, but who knows?

 

Clinton:  “Well, I strongly support Roe v. Wade which guarantees a constitutional right to a woman to make the most intimate, most difficult in many cases, decisions about her health care that one can imagine.”

Translation:  “Well, I strongly support Roe v. Wade which creates from thin air a constitutional right to a woman to make the most intimate, most difficult in many cases, decisions about her health care that one can imagine.  Of course, this is the only instance in which I support the right to make one’s own health care decision(s), which is why I support ever-increasing government intrusion into American health care – including mandates for procedures one doesn’t need or policies one doesn’t want.

 

Clinton:  “…[Trump] said women should be punished. There should be some form of punishment for women who obtain abortions.”

Translation:  “He said if abortion were legally considered murder, there should be some form of punishment for women who commit this crime – otherwise that law would be logically irrelevant.”

 

Clinton:  “I do not think the United States government should be stepping in and making those most personal of decisions.”

Translation:  “I do not think the United States government should be stepping in and making those most personal of decisions, but only as it relates to those decisions.  On all other decisions, I believe the United States government should be the ultimate authority on personal decisions, including those related to property use and ownership, self-defense, healthcare, the right to associate, schooling decisions, employment decisions, etc.”

 

Clinton:  “…using that kind of scare rhetoric is just terribly unfortunate.”

Translation:  “…using that kind of scare rhetoric is just terribly unfortunate, unless you’re a Democrat of course, which is why I have intimated that Trump is a member of the Ku Klux Klan and why I support inciting violence at his rallies.

 

Trump:  “We have no country if we have no border.”
Translation:  “We have no country which is why we have no border – it’s by design.”

 

Trump:  “[Immigration and Customs Enforcement agents] want strong borders.”

Translation:  “[ICE agents] want more funding and job security financed from the government coffers.”

 

Clinton:  “Well, as [Trump] was talking, I was thinking about a young girl I met here in Las Vegas…”

Translation:  ” Well, as [Trump] was talking, I was not listening, instead I was trying to remember the pre-formulated anecdotal story I’m about to relay to tug at the audience’s ‘feels.'”

 

Clinton:   “…Carla who is very worried that her parents might be deported because she was born in this country but they were not. They work hard. They do everything they can to give her a good life

Translation:  “…Carla who is very worried that her parents might be deported because she was born in this country but they were not. They work hard (to enter and remain in a country illegally). They do everything they can to give her a good life (by consciously breaking federal law, which normally would mean they are bad parents.)”

 

Clinton:  “Here’s what that means.  It means you would have to have a massive law enforcement presence where law enforcement officers would be going school to school, home to home, business to business.  Rounding up people who are undocumented.  And we would then to have put them on trains, on buses to get them out of our country.

Translation:  “see what I mean about scare rhetoric being reserved for Democrats?”

 

Clinton:  “…I’m introducing comprehensive immigration reform within the first 100 days with a path to citizenship.”

Translation:  “…I’m introducing comprehensive immigration reform within the first 100 days with a path to citizenship because Trump’s surprising success has really frightened the Democratic National Committee, and we obviously need these new voters to sustain ourselves in power.”

 

Clinton:  “Now, what I am also arguing is that bringing undocumented immigrants out from the shadows, putting them into the formal economy would be good.  Because then employers can’t exploit them and undercut Americans’ wages.”

Translation:  “Now, what I am also arguing is that bringing undocumented immigrants out from the shadows, putting them into the formal economy would be good.  Because then employers can’t exploit them and undercut Americans’ wages.  Instead, these under-skilled, less educated first- and second-generation immigrants will not qualify for the ridiculous minimum wage requirements in most states and consequently will not be able to find employment at all, thus requiring the government to exploit Americans’ property rights and undercut their quality of life by placing these new Americans on the public dole.”

 

Clinton:  “I want to get everybody out of the shadows.”
Translation:  “I want to get everybody out of the shadows so they can vote for us and draw government welfare above-board.  I want to legally legitimatize their current illicit activities with no penalty.”

 

Clinton:  “We will not have open borders.”

Translation“We will have open borders” (more doublespeak).

 

Clinton:  “[These email leaks have] come from the highest levels of the Russian government.”

Translation:  “We have zero proof that these leaks come from the highest levels of the Russian government, besides, everyone knows only we are allowed to spy on our own people.  Regardless, I need to deflect, so look away, look away.  Squirrel!

 

Trump:  “She won’t even mention the words [radical Islam or terrorism] and neither will President Obama.”

Translation:  “See, I too can deflect when necessary.”

 

Trump:  “If [Russia and America] got along well, that would be good.”

Translation:  “I don’t want to go to war with Russia.”

 

Clinton:  “[Putin] would rather have a puppet as president of the United States.”

Translation“I want to go to war with Russia.”

 

Clinton:  “We’ve never had a foreign government trying to interfere in our election.”
Translation:  “We’ve never had a foreign government trying to interfere in our election, except of course for Saudi Arabia, Qatar, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Kuwait, Brunei, Algeria, and others.”

 

Clinton:  “[Trump] has advocated more countries getting [nuclear weapons].”

Translation:  “Trump has advocated that the United States no longer act as the world’s police force (without remuneration).”

 

Trump:  “We’re defending other countries.  We are spending a fortune doing it.  They have the bargain of the century.”

Translation:  “We should not be the world’s police force (without appropriate remuneration).”

 

Clinton:  “The United States has kept the peace through our alliances.”

Translation:  “The United States has initiated more direct armed conflict and aggression than arguably any other nation on Earth in the last century, and repeatedly suffers from foreign policy blowback and fruitless regional destabilization and nation-building through fire and sword.”

 

Clinton:  “[Our imperious presence in the world] makes the world safer and frankly, it makes the United States safer.”

Translation:  “”[Our imperious presence in the world] makes the world less safe and frankly, it makes the United States less safe, but it makes the global oligarchy more powerful and increases the authority of the government” (doublespeak again).

 

Clinton:  “…my plan is based on growing the economy…”

Translation:  “I know government cannot and does not actually grow the economy, owing to the broken-window fallacy, so I will instead insist on the Federal Reserve’s continued loose monetary policy which will continue to drive increased inflation, consequent increased government spending, and resulting higher prices (or, rather, falling purchasing power of the dollar), all of which combine to give the illusion of a ‘growing economy’ to the under-informed through flawed gross domestic product inflation and analysis.”

 

Clinton:  “[I want] new jobs in clean energy.”

Translation:  “I know that there is no such thing as ‘clean’ energy, given the First Law of Thermodynamics, but such pandering sounds good to much of the ill-informed society that I target electorally.”

 

Clinton:  “I want us to raise the national minimum wage because people who work full time should not still be in poverty.”
Translation:  “The average American has no idea that the United States government continually and arbitrarily adjusts the so-called ‘poverty line’ to suit its policy goals, but at any rate I want to raise the minimum wage to continue to professionally and economically marginalize the same demographics of Americans generation after generation, which my party necessarily relies upon for votes.  Remember, there is no political profit in a cure – only in a treatment.”

 

Clinton:  “…I sure do want to make sure women get equal pay for the work we do.”

Translation:  “…I sure do want to use government violence to ensure that women get equal pay – or at least that they are not hired at all, since prospective employers might want to avoid the hassle altogether – for the work they do, even if it is not necessarily ‘equal’ work and/or they might not be equally qualified, and especially if I don’t have to meet these same standards of practice.  (We all know I feel I am generally above the rules and law anyway.)  Plus, ‘equal pay’ for equal work is already required by law, so I’m not sure what my problem is exactly – except to say that standard is maybe too high if my previous thoughts on the matter mean anything at all.”

 

Clinton:  “I want to make college debt-free…”

Translation:  “I want virtually all young people entered into the State’s social justice warrior indoctrination programs, ensuring generations of new non-thinking, unknowledgeable, and ultimately professionally undesirable Democrat voters.  This isn’t about actual education, of course, but about years of dedicated State attention to the coercion of young, impressionable minds – after all, the State already holds a young American for 12 full years and cannot turn out even a marginally employable or otherwise marketable skilled individual, why would 16 years instead do the trick?”

 

Clinton:  “So we are going to have the wealthy pay their fair share.  We’re going to have corporations make a contribution greater than they are now to our country.”

Translation:  “So we are going to ‘eat the rich,’ even though the tax code insulates the rich (including the largest corporations) in this country – likely purposefully so – and many new taxes eventually flow down to be absorbed by the lower economic classes (and businesses) to one degree or another.  And by ‘contribution,’ I of course am churching up the reality that this is violent property confiscation at the hands of the state’s agents, pure and simple.”

 

Clinton:  “[Trump’s economic plan will add] $20 trillion to our debt…”

Translation:  “I only care about the national debt when it is not my idea driving it up.  Any idea that would actually reduce the debt must be rejected out-of-hand.”

 

Trump:  “We’re up to [a national debt of] $02 trillion.  So my plan, we’re going to negotiate trade deals.  We’re going to have a lot of free trade.  More free trade than we have right now.  But we have horrible deals.”

Translation:  “I hope the American people don’t realize that, by definition, ‘free’ trade requires no ‘deals’ to facilitate.  Intergovernmental deals are inherently antithetical to ‘free’ trade, but it doesn’t matter anyway because no one – including myself – is really willing to tackle the elephant (or perhaps, sacred cow) in the room on national debt: non-discretionary spending.”

 

Clinton:  “The fact is, [Trump] is going to advocate for the largest tax cuts we’ve ever seen.”
Translation:  “Can I get a do-over on that one?”

 

Clinton:  “…I will not raise taxes on anyone making $250,000 or less.”

Translation:  “Like Barrack Obama said, I will not raise taxes on anyone making $250,000 or less.”

 

Clinton:  “I also will not add a penny to the debt.”
Translation:  Really?  I am not even going to justify this absurdity with even a tongue-in-cheek attempt.  Who believes this nonsense anyway?

 

Clinton:  “When my husband was president, we went from a $300 billion deficit to a $200 billion surplus and we were actually on a path to eliminating the national debt.”

Translation:  “Never mind that Bill benefited mightily and conveniently from a number of factors, including the advent of the internet and a ‘dotcom’ boom (that ultimately bust conveniently at the end of his second term), falling oil prices, and others.  Or that, at that rate, the national debt would have been paid off in about a quarter century with all factors remaining equal (see above on pesky non-discretionary spending).  Just listen to me when I say I am the candidate of fiscal responsibility, obviously.”

 

Clinton:  “[President Obama] has cut the deficit by two-thirds.”

Translation:  “[President Obama] has cut the deficit by two-thirds after presiding over its initial 300+% increase and continued projections out to 2021 of over 120% above-and-beyond what it was at the outset of his first term.

 

Clinton:  “I personally believe that the steps that President Obama took saved the economy.”

Translation:  “I personally believe that the steps that President Obama took curried significant favor with Wall Street, whose firms are continue to fervently lobby for yet more future taxpayer-funded handouts (as needed, of course – wink, wink) and hammocks.”

 

Trump:  “We’re not making things anymore, relatively speaking.”
Translation:  “We’re not making things anymore, except warfare and avoidable problems for ourselves and the rest of the world.”

 

Clinton:  “I’m against [the Trans-Pacific Partnership agreement] now.  I’ll be against it after the election.”

Translation:  “I’m against [the Trans-Pacific Partnership agreement] now.  I’ll be against it after the election, unless I win in which case I’ll probably be for it again – if my Wall Street benefactors tell me to be.”

 

Clinton:  “We’re going to pull the country together.”
Translation:  “We’re going to further divide and conquer the country, as my predecessor has done.”

 

Trump:  “If [Hillary Clinton] become[s] president, this country is going to be in some mess.”
Translation:  “This country is likely going to be in some mess no matter which of us wins the presidency, but at least we won’t be at war with Russia if I win.”

 

Clinton:  “…back in the 1970s, I worked for the children’s defense fund and I was taking on discrimination against African-American kids in schools.  [Trump] was getting sued by the Justice Department for racial discrimination in his apartment buildings.  In the 1980s, I was working to reform the schools in Arkansas.  He was borrowing $14 million from his father to start his businesses.  In the 1990s, I went to Beijing and I said women’s rights are human rights.  He insulted a former Miss Universe, Alicia Machado, and called her an eating machine.”

Translation:  “…back in the 1970s, I worked for the children’s defense fund and also successfully defended child rapists (accusations are all that are necessary to demonstrate guilt, after all, see follow-on comments).  And I was taking on discrimination against African-American kids in schools but have worked ever since to keep this demographic marginalized socially and economically.  [Trump] was getting sued by the Justice Department for racial discrimination in his apartment buildings, which failed to prove any wrongdoing on his part – but, we all know that allegations are all that are really required to determine guilt which is why my husband is in fact a sexual predator.  In the 1980s, I was working to reform the schools in Arkansas, though admittedly that attempt didn’t work out terribly well.  He was borrowing $14 million from his father to start his businesses but I am not quite sure why that bothers me so – I am quite sure I’d give Chelsea anything she wanted if I could (even if it doesn’t actually belong to me).  In the 1990s, I went to Beijing and I said women’s rights are human rights.  Naturally, these women’s right to not be sexually enslaved simply cannot come between me and a good deal, however.  And, in any event, words are meaningless and my actions indicate I actually have no problem targeting women who displease me.  He insulted a former Miss Universe, Alicia Machado, and called her an eating machine, but I’ve called women much worse.

 

Trump:  “…we should have never been in Iraq..”

Translation:  “…yeah, I guess we should have been in Iraq…”

 

Trump:  “I believe it was her campaign that [fabricated the allegations of sexual impropriety on my part]…  I didn’t do anything.  I didn’t know any of these women.  I didn’t see these women.”

Translation:  “I may have done some of these things, which isn’t necessarily mutually exclusive with not knowing any of these women.  I am a player, after all, and I just can’t keep track of it all.  Without a doubt, it was Clinton’s campaign that pushed this forward all of the sudden, regardless.”

 

Clinton:  “Donald thinks belittling women makes him bigger.”

Translation:  “I think belittling women (and everyone else) makes me bigger.”  (Classic projection.)

 

Clinton:  “I think it’s really up to all of us to demonstrate who we are and who our country is and to stand up and be very clear about what we expect from our next president, how we want to bring our country together, where we don’t want to have the kind of pitting of people one against the other, where instead we celebrate our diversity, we lift people up, and we make our country even greater.”

Translation:  “I think it’s really up to all of us to demonstrate who we are and who our country is and to stand up and be very clear about what we expect from our next president (even though those expectations will most likely go ignored), how we want to bring our country together (even though I plan to do the opposite), where we don’t want to have the kind of pitting of people one against the other (unless I am doing so, of course), where instead we celebrate our diversity (except for white, male, straight, Christians), we lift people up (while somehow perpetually keeping them down), and we make our country even greater (or, at least, more tolerable to globalists anyway).

 

Clinton:  “…it really is up to all of us to make that true now and in the future and particularly for our children and our grandchildren.”

Translation:  “…it really is up to all of us to make that true now and in the future and particularly for our children and our grandchildren, which doesn’t quite explain why I’ve contributed to leveraging their future and consigned them to an inescapable debtors’ existence with continued warfare-welfare policies (shoulder shrug).”

 

Trump:  “Nobody has more respect for women than I do.  Nobody.”

Translation:  “Probably lots of people have more respect women than I do.  Maybe everyone.”  (Doublespeak.)

 

Trump:  “And I really want to just talk about something slightly different.  She mentions this, which is all fiction, all fictionalized, probably or possibly started by her and her very sleazy campaign.  But I will tell you what isn’t fictionalized are her emails where she destroyed 33,000 emails criminally, criminally after getting a subpoena from the United States Congress.”

Translation:  “Now I need to quickly deflect because this debate is becoming almost unilaterally about my alleged sexual habits and potty-mouth, so, how about that criminal Hillary Clinton, huh?  I mean, come on.”

 

Trump:  “What happened to the FBI[‘s investigation of Clinton], I don’t know.”

Translation:  “We all know what happened to the FBI’s investigation of Clinton: a deal was likely struck and justice was averted.”

 

Clinton:  “[Trump] went after a federal judge born in Indiana but who Donald said couldn’t be trusted because his parents were Mexican.”

Translation:  “[Trump] went after a federal judge who Donald said couldn’t be trusted because he is a member of La Raza.  As I said in a previous debate, all people are implicitly biased.”

 

Clinton:  “This is a pattern, a pattern of divisiveness, of a very dark and in many ways dangerous vision of our country where he incites violence, where he applauds people who are pushing and pulling and punching at his rallies.”

Translation:  “This is a pattern, a pattern of divisiveness (on my part, see previous), of a very dark and in many ways dangerous vision of our country where my campaign and my party incites violence, where Democrats applaud censorship and bullying at his rallies.”

 

Clinton:  “…everything I did as secretary of state was in furtherance of our country’s interests and our values.”

Translation:  “…everything I did as secretary of state was in furtherance of our country’s interests and our values, including corrupt deals, destabilization of the Middle East and subsequent displacement of thousands – perhaps millions – of indigenous peoples and ultimately the creation of ISIS, and leaving Americans hanging to die needlessly, among others.”

 

Clinton:  “…I’m thrilled to talk about the Clinton Foundation because it is a world renowned charity and I’m so proud of the work that it does.”

Translation:  “…I’m thrilled to talk about the Clinton Foundation because even though it doesn’t do much charity-wise, it certainly enriches my family, which is awesome.”

 

Trump:  “[The Clinton Foundation] is a criminal enterprise.”

Translation:  “[The Clinton Foundation] is a criminal enterprise.  But so too was Trump University, probably, at least insofar as all universities are guilty of taking money in exchange for promises they can’t deliver.”

 

Clinton:  “…we at the Clinton Foundation spend 90%, 90%, of all the money that is donated on behalf of programs for people around the world and in our own country.  I’m very proud of that.  We have the highest rating from the watchdogs that follow foundations.”

Translation:  “…we at the Clinton Foundation spend 5.7%, 5.7%, of all the money that is donated on behalf of programs for people around the world and in our own country.  I’m very proud of that.  After initially being categorized as a personal slush fund, we now have the highest rating from the watchdog that we’ve curried favor with to remove us from its ‘watch list.’

 

Clinton:  “Bill and I have been involved in trying to help Haiti for many years.”

Translation:  “Bill and I have done such a bang-up job helping Haiti over the years that they don’t necessarily want us back.”

 

Clinton:  “Of course, there’s no way we can know whether any of [his claims regarding the Trump Foundation are] true because he hasn’t released his tax returns.”

Translation:  “Of course, there’s no way the public can implicate me, my staff, or the president in any impropriety while acting as an appointed cabinet official because I (might have) illegally had my emails destroyed in order to avoid Freedom of Information Act queries and congressional subpoenas.

 

Trump:  “I will look at [the election results] at the time.”

Translation“I will totally accept the results of this great and historic presidential election if I win.”

 

Clinton:  “We’ve been around for 240 years.  We’ve had free and fair elections.  We’ve accepted the outcomes when we may not have like them, and this is what must be expected of anyone standing on a debate stage during a general election.”

Translation:  “We’ve been around for 240 years.  We’ve had free and fair elections, unless you count LBJ, JFK, Adlai Stevenson, Al Franken, more recently in Pennsylvania, Texas, and Colorado, and of course, me – all Democrats by the way for those not paying attention.  We’ve accepted the outcomes when we may not have like them, which I’m counting on now, and this is what must be expected of anyone standing on a debate stage during a general election, especially when I think I’m a shoo-in.”

 

Clinton:  “The goal [in Iraq] is to take back Mosul.  …  And then continue to press into Syria to begin to take back and move on Raqqa, which is the ISIS headquarters.”

Translation:  “The goal [in Iraq] is to take back Mosul.  …  And then continue to press into Syria to begin to topple the Russian-backed Assad regime, and ultimately to directly confront Russia if possible.”

 

Clinton:  “That’s why I want to… make sure here at home we don’t let terrorists buy weapons.  If you’re too dangerous to fly, you’re too dangerous to buy a gun.”

Translation:  “That’s why I want to… make sure here at home we don’t let people arbitrarily placed on secret government lists exercise their constitutional rights.”

 

Clinton:  “And I’m going to continue to push for a no-fly zone and safe havens within Syria, not only to help protect the Syrians and prevent the constant outflow of refugees, but to frankly gain some leverage on both the Syrian government and the Russians so that perhaps we can have the kind of serious negotiation necessary to bring the conflict to an end and go forward on a political track.”

Translation:  “And I’m going to continue to push for a no-fly zone, which will admittedly cost untold innocent lives and necessarily presents direct and open conflict with Russia, but this is what I want.  Perhaps we can have the kind of serious military conflict necessary to go forward with a globalized warfare track.”

 

Clinton:  “I just want everybody to go google it.”

Translation:  “I just want to demonstrate to everyone that Google, like the mainstream media and Hollywood, is firmly in the Democrats’ camp.”

 

Clinton:  “We need to go after [ISIS’] leadership, but we need to get rid of them, get rid of their fighters.”

Translation:  “We need to go after [ISIS’] leadership, but we need to let them flee into Syria, let their fighters flee into Syria, to further destabilize the Russian-backed regime and provide a pretense to open war.”

 

Clinton:  “…you should ask Bernie Sanders who he is supporting for president.”

Translation:  “…you should ask Bernie Sanders who he is supporting for president, because he has the good judgment to know what’s good for him.”

 

Clinton:  “[Bernie Sanders] said you are the most dangerous person to run for president in the modern history of America.  I think he’s right.”

Translation:  “[Bernie Sanders] said you are the most dangerous person (to the political establishment) to run for president in the modern history of America.  I think he’s right.”

 

Trump:  “Well Aleppo is a disaster.”

Translation:  “Well everything everywhere is a disaster.”

 

Clinton:  “I am not going to let anyone into this country who is not vetted, who we do not have confidence in…”

Translation:  “Like keeping your doctor and reducing healthcare costs, I make a promise on the behalf of the government to not somehow drop the ball on this lofty claim.”

 

Trump:  “…we’re bring [the annual economic growth rate] from 1% up to 4% [under my plan], and I actually think we can ho higher than 4%.  I think you can go to 5% or 6%.”

Translation:  “I like pie-in-the-sky predictions for economic growth, you know – shoot for the stars in case you hit the moon.”

 

Clinton:  “…[Donald Trump] has been criticizing our government for decades.”

Translation:  “…[Donald Trump] has been criticizing our government for decades which is probably why so many people like him.”

 

Trump:  “[To address entitlements,] I’m cutting taxes.  We’re going to grow the economy.  It’s going to grow in a record rate.”

Translation:  “Like any candidate with any realistic hope of being elected, I have no serious plan to address entitlements.”

 

Clinton:  “That’s part of my commitment to raise taxes on the wealthy.  My Social Security payroll contribution will go up…”

Translation:  “That’s part of my commitment to raise taxes on everyone.  My Social Security payroll confiscations will go up (for everyone)…”

 

Clinton:  “I will not cut benefits.”

Translation:  “Like my colleague, I am unserious about addressing the entitlement problem – in fact, I want to make it worse faster.”

 

Clinton:  “…I’m reaching out to all Americans, Democrats, Republicans, and independents…”

Translation:  “…I’m reaching out to an extreme and slim electoral majority of a popular minority…”

 

Clinton:  “I will stand up for families against powerful interests…”

Translation:  “I will stand up for (connected) families (who contribute to my slush fund) against powerful interests…”  Or perhaps:  “I will stand up for families against their own interests.”

 

 

As is so often the case in politics: lots of words but not much meaning unless you have a functioning translator.

 

, , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

